‘Handmade Homegrown’ Theater Dakota Studio Concert Series is a monthly concert series featuring a quirky collection of individuals and groups who are unique in their field, genuine and continue to defy expectation who make 100 % homegrown original stuff that’s like nothing anywhere else on the planet.

Concentrating on composers and creators who work with sound who make and perform their own work, this concert series is a platform for a generation of independent artists who are out there doing it for themselves in a scene that is raw, earthy, energetic and filled with life and colour.

The series aims to bring international, national and local groups together once a month to perform their latest creations to an audience curious about the voices of today. The series is about personality, originality, honesty and passion.

Handmade Homegrown Concert Series is curated by composer Kate Moore who will be artist in residence at Theater Dakota 2012/13. Being Kate’s tenth season in The Netherlands she wishes to celebrate this by programming a collection of ten portrait concerts featuring people and groups that have been prominent and inspiring characters passing through The Hague during this time. Her band RPM Electro will be resident ensemble: www.rpmelectro.com


The scene now is rich and rapidly changing as the world embraces new frontiers in technology, globalization and gender equality, making way for a storming set of colourful individuals who do their own thing, think for themselves, who devote their time and energy to the creative act of making extraordinary worlds in sound. Each composer/ sound artist represented by this series is completely different and 100 % original.

The artists are a unique set of people who have been involved or are somehow connected to The Hague, by performing, studying or working here over the last ten years. Their shared common interest is that everyone is free to voice their own inner environment and there is no one else like them. This makes for a rich spectrum of colours, textures and flavours, a collection of perspectives and personalities, all of which are brilliant, relevant and strong.

Artists in this set include:

Julia Wolfe, Louis Andriessen, Michael Gordon, Donnacha Dennehy, David Lang, Oscar Bettison, John de Simone, Matt Wright, Barbara Ellison, Keir Neuringer, Juan Parra, Fabian Svensson, Kate Moore, Ezequiel Menalled, Aslaug Holgerson, Ernst van der Loo, Pete Harden, Samuel Vriezen, Anton Lukoszevieze, Stephanie Pan, Andrew Hamilton, Saskia Lankhoorn, Florian Maier, Reza Namavar, Ana Mikhajlovic, Arnold Schoenberg, Alison Isadora, Jan Bas Bollen, Monica Germino, Frank van der Weij, Dennis del Favero, Trio Scordatura, Chris McIntyre, Sarah Nichols, Aldo Aranda, Stuart Griffin, Peter van Loon, Rpm Electro, Stracc, Dapper’s Delight, Bloed Rood, Modelo62…and more.

The concert series is hosted by Theater Dakota under the visionary direction of Paul Cornelissen.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s