Encore edition – HH11 – Ensemble Offspring and RPM Electro

Double Bill concert program

RPM Electro & Ensemble Offspring

12 October 2013 – 20.15

more info


Due to our successful season with Handmade Homegrown Concert series 2012/13 we have been invited back to Theater Dakota for one last final showdown 12 October 2013 @ 20.15.
Australia’s premiere new music group Ensemble Offspring directed by Claire Edwardes and Damien Ricketson (who are also Den Haag expats), will be coming all the way from Sydney for an exclusive show in NL. The EO troup (Lamorna Nightingale, Jason Noble, Bree van Reyk and Claire Edwardes) will play works by ao Bree van Reyk and Matthew Schlomowitz + they will premiere a brand new piece by Kate Moore based on the self-similar patterns found in the fronds of ferns. Kate will also appear with her own band RPM Electro who return to Theater Dakota with a set of works featuring  Michaela Riener, Marc Kaptijn, Pete Harden, Kate Moore, Johan Nieuwenhuize and some surprises.

RPM Electro plays The Open Road

In 2008 The Open Road was commissioned. It is a song cycle of fourteen pieces adapting lyrics from a set of poems by Walt Whitman under the title Song of the Open Road. The song cycle pinpoints the essence of musical language, clearing the slate to begin a journey of discovery. The songs are simple, self- contained statements, each with an individual character with an overall thread through which the entire cycle is connected. Song of the Open Road encourages the reader to close the books, to step out, keeping the load light, to find one’s own feet on a journey into the soul in search of Truth, one’s origin and one’s identity.

Australian group, Ensemble Offspring, play Roar

Ensemble Offspring is Australia’s foremost new music ensemble, dedicated to the performance of innovative new music. The Sydney-based group is committed to a living classical music tradition combining classics of the 20th century with the music of tomorrow from Australia and internationally. Originally called the Spring Ensemble as resident ensemble in Roger Woodward’s Sydney Spring Festival, the group has clocked up almost 20 years experience.

In ROAR Ensemble Offspring present works commissioned for and championed by the group by UK based composers Laurence Crane, Bryn Harrison and Matthew Shlomowitz as well as the group’s own Bree van Reyk and composer in residence for 2012, James Humberstone. Dutch based Kate Moore’s fresh new quintet Fern will be given its world premiere at Theater Dakota.


RPM Electro – photo by Johan Nieuwenhuize

Ensemble-Offspring-015 Ensemble-Offspring-048 Ensemble-Offspring-135 Ensemble-Offspring-145Ensemble Offspring: Bree van Reyk, Jason Noble, Claire Edwardes and Lamorna Nightingale

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s